Skip to content

06.12.10

June 12, 2010

Started off this morning outside to get some hummer pictures.  I had a few chances to get the female but something always scared her off right when I’m about to snap the button.  I believe I have 2 females for sure!

Even bees have been trying the nectar!

I was having an ant problem on feeder #2 — which is hanging from an iron hook.  I lubed it with Crisco oil spray and so far so good!

I must have moved too fast on this one…..I thought it turned out pretty cool!  Look @ top right there is a red bellied that just took off from the tree.

I hung this decorative birdhouse out on a tree branch awhile back.  I thought you never know.  Occasionally I will check to see if anything is in it.  Just checked it the other night and nothing…..this evening I saw a twig sticking out of it……I looked in and there were lots of twigs in it!!  Oh yeah!  So I got the camera and sat outside for a bit and there was the new tenant:  house wren!

And boy was it busy!

I am pumped!  Unfortunately — nothing in the bluebird house we put up but spiders and bugs!  boo!  This makes me happy though!  Good Stuff!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2010 1:37 pm

    You are having better luck photographing Hummers than I am.

    Cool shots of the House Wren carrying the twig. Boy they sure can sing….and…sing…and sing…..:)

  2. July 6, 2010 9:19 pm

    I, too, bought 2 cute decorative birdhouses, thinking nothing would nest in them but still when I was looking at them and noticed they had a hole on the bottom with a big rubber cork where I could clean them out if I needed to…that sealed the deal. And guess what?! A house wren is nesting in it and man, what a racket comes out of such a tiny bird!

    Of course, I didn’t know it was a house wren but I was telling a friend about it and what it looked like and she told me. She said with them, I wouldn’t have to worry about cleaning it out because the ones who nest at her house toss everything out and then remake their nest with the stuff they tossed out…funny.

    And, well, I had to be sure that was what it was so I googled ‘house wren birdchick’ and your 6/12/10 post came up, yay! You confirmed it! Do the males share nesting duties because I think I see 2 different bird feeding the babies.

    Anyway, here’s a little video on my blog…
    http://furrydancecats.blogspot.com/2010/07/caturday-saturday.html

    Oh, and I bought my first pair of binoculars, lol…

Leave a Reply

