Skip to content

05.09.10 Happy Mother’s Day

May 10, 2010

I hope all the Mother’s reading this blog had a very special day today!  I received the most beautiful bouquet of flowers from one of my best friends!  She will be celebrating her 1st Mother’s Day next year as she is pregnant now – I can’t wait to repay the favor!!

I couldn’t have asked for a better day!  Although it was a bit chilly – the sun was shining.  I took a nice solo hike in the woods across from our house.

It is a great birding area!  I think this is a pine warbler, which I have never seen before.

eastern towhee.

I think this is a field sparrow.  There were 2 of them and they both had leaves or something in their beaks and were chipping away.  Pretty sure they had a nest nearby.

goldfinch.

catbird.  I have never seen this either.  I tried to get another pic and it flew off.

I am looking forward to my next hike with no dogs and no 3 year old!  🙂

I was delighted to have a male rose breasted grosbeak visit!  My husband was like, “what is this bird?”  I was pumped!  Such a beautiful bird!

My husband took this one.

The blue jays about cleaned me out of black oil sunflower seeds.  Pigs!

One of my faves:  red-bellied woodpecker.

I wonder if this female cardinal is a Momma??

What a day!  And to top it off I spotted a pileated woodpecker fly into the trees in the backyard!  I have never seen one.  I confirmed the sighting on the way home we saw it @ the edge of our property by the main road!!  I didn’t get to get a pic but it sure made my day!!!

Until next time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

