Skip to content

04.22.10 Happy Earth Day! (updated)

April 22, 2010

Earth Day should really be every day though.  Try to do your best to Recycle, Reuse and Reduce whenever you can.  It may take an extra few minutes of your time but can make a big difference for the many generations to come.

I had a few visitors before I left for work this morning.

Nice evening visitors.  However, I have a couple crows that are hanging around now.  They have been swooping in by the feeders and then back to the trees.  They don’t land on the deck or feeders so I am not sure what are they doing.  Are they looking for prey?  I noticed it a lot when the Blue Jays were feeding!  I don’t like them very well.  I got a picture of one of them.

It just looks like it is up to no good!  Go Away!

…white-throated sparrow…

what a cute little guy, huh?

I wish the red-bellied woodpeckers were not so timid.  This poor girl kept trying and trying and trying to come eat.  She would get spooked by either another bird or one of us (2 dogs + toddler) inside walking around.  I felt so bad.  She made several attempts and then finally gave up.

…blue jays…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 10:23 am

    Love that Chipmunk!

  2. April 23, 2010 10:57 am

    I’m not sure why you had Crows flying into your yard. Your guess is probaly a good one. One thing I like about Crows is they will run off Hawks. Blue Jays will spot snakes and do a loud “alert” cry.
    Super pictures as usual.:)

  3. April 23, 2010 3:25 pm

    @ jen: the chipmunk was back this morning! my daughter was like oh he’s so cute! hehe! big puffy cheeks too…..
    @ jean: we thought we spotted a hawk last week so maybe that is why?? i will try to get the crows behavior on video if i can! it was very odd….

    have a great weekend ladies!

Leave a Reply

