Skip to content

04.06.10

April 7, 2010

I feel like I have been neglecting “my” birds!  We were out of town over the weekend so didn’t get much bird watching in.  And I think they are mad @ me for not feeding them!!  They have been kind of scarce since.  I did manage to get a few pics in the evening this week so far.  Also still dealing with the other critters (squirrels + raccoons)!  I have been bringing the suet off the deck in each night and we tried hanging the other one in the tree (see below) and the next morning it was laying up on the tree branch half empty!  Ugh!

…hairy woodpecker…

…white-breasted nuthatch…

…northern flicker…

I think this may be the male.  It looks like it has the black stash below the beak and if so, my first sighting of the male!!

Spring has Sprung here!

We brought back our jetski from the old house this weekend.  My husband was checking it out and this is what he found inside the hull:

We really hope the Mama made the 3 1/2 hour trip with them!  We will do whatever we can to keep them healthy if she didn’t!!  They are so cute……as long as they stay outside!!  haha!!

UPDATE: Sadly, the baby mice did not make it through the day.  They were dead when we got home from work!  Booooooo!

Have a great week!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 9:11 pm

    Break your suet into fourths. That way if something other than
    the birds get it, you won’t be out too much.
    and yep, looks like a male Flicker up there.
    Too bad about the mice. 😦

    • Jenny-O permalink
      April 8, 2010 11:25 am

      thanks for the suet tip — i will have to start doing that! have you ever made your own??

      i thought so too about the male flicker!! exciting!!

      i know we were bummed when we checked on them!! they were so cute!!

  2. April 9, 2010 9:58 am

    Jen, I have the same problem with oppossuems raiding my suet feeders.:(
    Love the pictures! I would be excited if a Flicker paid me a visit. Too bad about the mice.

Leave a Reply

