Skip to content

Weekend of 03.06.10

March 9, 2010

I had a great weekend of bird watching!  I had the usual customers, as well as two newbies!!  I actually got to sit outside for a bit on Sunday morning and it was much more of a challenge to get pictures than behind the glass!!  It was fun!!  It was nice hearing all the sounds too!  Spring is in the air!

…1st new visitor:  northern flicker…

the beauty of this bird is incredible!

Thanks to Jen @ Unglazed I am pretty sure it is a female.  No black malar moustache.  What a sight!!  For more facts on the Northern Flicker check here:  http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Northern_Flicker/id

…2nd new visitor:  american goldfinch…

“your place or mine?”

…tufted titmouse…

…downy (or hairy?) woodpecker…

“waiting for my turn.”

“i like peanuts too!”

…this is most definitely the hairy woodpecker – notice the long bill…

…black-capped chickadee…

my 3-year old is cute…but this bird ranks right up there with her!!!  hehe!

…white-throated sparrow…

“got seed?”

…red-bellied woodpecker…

“peek-a-boo!”

…sparrow?…

“i know what you did last summer.”

…male cardinal…

“where to next?”

“down the hatch!”

Have a great week!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 7:45 pm

    The Northern Flicker is beautiful. I finally saw a female during our snow, but she hasn’t shown up since, only the male.
    That is so sweet that the Downy sat there and opened the peanut. Usually mine just grab and go.
    About my peanut butter balls. I was cleaning out the cupboard and had some chunky peanut butter about to expire so I added some bird seed to it and bread crumbs that were ready to expire too.
    So as soon as I set some out, the squirrel showed up. I’d rather he eat my left overs than all the bird seed anyway, so it’s okay.
    Happy Birding-Jen

    • March 10, 2010 3:50 pm

      i will def try that! thanks! surprisingly we haven’t seen too many squirrels, yet. haha! i haven’t seen my flicker since sat morning…sigh…

  2. March 12, 2010 1:57 pm

    You have done a very nice job with your Blog! I really enjoyed the Flicker photos as I haven’t seen one here in years. Lucky You!!!

Leave a Reply

